skip navigation

RGV FC Announces 2021 Regular Season Schedule

By Toros Communications , 03/30/21, 12:45PM CDT

Share

NEED TO KNOW:

- Toros host New Mexico United on May 1 in first match of 2021 regular season 

- RGV FC host Landon Donovan and SD Loyal FC on May 6  

- Toros hosts San Antonio FC on May 15 for a Copa Tejas kick off 

 

EDINBURG, Texas (Tuesday, Mar. 30, 2021) – Rio Grande Valley FC announced today its 32-game schedule for the 2021 USL Championship regular season. The club enters its sixth season in the USL with the return of the club’s first-ever Head Coach, Wilmer Cabrera, as Head Coach and Sporting Director.

 

The club opens play at H-E-B Park on Saturday, May 1st as they host New Mexico United. The following weekend, RGV FC hosts Landon Donovan and San Diego Loyal SC on Saturday, May 6.

 

The Toros will welcome up to 3,000 fans in the stands to ensure the safety for all fans. H-E-B Park’s updated fan safety protocols may be found at https://www.rgvfc.com/safety

 

As previously announced, the 2021 Championship regular season will see each of the league’s teams play a 32-game schedule over a 28-week regular season, with the league divided into four divisions and two conferences. The structure for the 2021 USL Championship Playoffs will be announced prior to the start of the regular season. 

 

The Toros will play each team of the Mountain Division, part of the Western Conference, four times with two of the matchups being at home. The club will take on five Eastern Conference teams, with first-ever matches against Miami FC (6/6), Loudoun United FC (9/4) and Atlanta United FC 2 (9/25). 

 

Highlighting the division schedule is the first Copa Tejas showdown at H-E-B Park as RGV FC hosts San Antonio FC on Saturday, May 15. The Toros will then head on a two-game road trip to Texas teams, El Paso Locomotive FC (5/22) and SAFC (5/29). 

 

RGV FC will host 2019 USL Championship winners, Real Monarchs SLC on Saturday, June 12, followed by a mid-week matchup against Austin Bold FC on Wednesday, June 16. 

 

The Toros finish the 2021 regular season with the last Copa Tejas face off against the Locomotive FC on Saturday, October 30 at H-E-B Park. 

 

More details on the 2021 USL Championship season, including the national television schedule on ESPN and the postseason structure, will be available in the coming weeks.

 

Toros 2021 Season Ticket Memberships are now available at www.RGVFC.com. In addition, the first three regular-season games may also be purchased on the website. 

 

The full 32-regular season game schedule is available below. 

   

 

RIO GRANDE VALLEY FC 2021 SCHEDULE

 

DATE

OPPONENT

NOTES

Saturday, May 1

New Mexico United 

Opening Day, Isidro Martinez returns to RGV

Thursday, May 6

San Diego Loyal SC

RGV welcome Landon Donovan 

Saturday, May 15

San Antonio FC

1st Copa Tejas Showdown

Saturday, May 22

At El Paso Locomotive FC

2nd Copa Tejas Match

Saturday, May 29

At San Antonio FC

 

Sunday, June 6

At The Miami FC

1st time-ever against Miami 

Saturday, June 12

Real Monarchs SLC

Previous 2019 USL Champions 

Wednesday, June 16

Austin Bold FC

 

Saturday, June 19

At San Antonio FC

 

Friday, June 25

FC Tulsa

 

Wednesday, June 30

El Paso Locomotive FC

 

Saturday, July 10

At Austin Bold FC

 

Saturday, July 17

At Orange County SC

 

Saturday, July 24

Austin Bold FC

 

Saturday, July 31

At Phoenix Rising FC

 

Wednesday, Aug. 4

At Real Monarchs SLC

 

Saturday, Aug. 7

San Antonio FC

 

Saturday, Aug. 14

Colorado Springs Switchbacks FC

 

Tuesday, Aug. 17

At Austin Bold FC

 

Saturday, Aug. 21

At El Paso Locomotive FC

 

Sunday, Aug. 29

At OKC Energy FC

 

Saturday, Sept. 4

Loudoun United FC

1st game-ever vs Loudoun

Saturday, Sept. 11

At Colorado Springs Switchbacks FC

 

Saturday, Sept. 18

Colorado Springs Switchbacks FC

 

Wednesday, Sept. 22

At New Mexico United

 

Saturday, Sept. 25

Atlanta United FC 2

1st matchup-ever vs Atlanta

Saturday, Oct. 2

Real Monarchs SLC

Push for playoffs 

Saturday, Oct. 9

At New Mexico United

 

Saturday, Oct. 16

At Colorado Springs Switchbacks FC

 

Saturday, Oct. 23

New Mexico United

 

Wednesday, Oct. 27

At Real Monarchs SLC

 

Saturday, Oct. 30

El Paso Locomotive FC

Last Copa Tejas match & regular-season game 

 

 

 

 

 

ABOUT RIO GRANDE VALLEY FC

The Rio Grande Valley FC Toros (RGV FC) enter their sixth season in the United Soccer League (USL) Championship in 2021. The club plays at H-E-B Park, a state-of-the-art soccer specific stadium that holds 9,700 people, the club trains in H-E-B Park's world class training facility adjacent to the stadium. RGV FC is the only professional soccer team located within the Rio Grande Valley. In 2016, RGV FC became USL's first team to develop a hybrid affiliation model with a Major League Soccer (MLS) franchise. This partnership, with Houston Dynamo FC, began in 2016. The relationship has now evolved into a more traditional USL/MLS affiliation where RGV FC manages all aspects of the club and the Dynamo are able to loan players to the Toros for development purposes. For more information, please visit www.RGVFC.com.

 

 

# PARA EL VALLE #

Latest News