skip navigation

RGV FC Announces 2019 Preseason Schedule

By TOROS COMMUNICATIONS , 01/21/19, 5:45PM CST

Share

NEED TO KNOW:

- Club opens preseason training today in Houston at Houston Sports Park

- Team to play two games against Houston Dynamo First Team

- Toros will play two games against college teams, two against USL Championship sides

 

HOUSTON (Monday, Jan. 21, 2019) – Rio Grande Valley FC opened preseason training this morning and has released its preseason game schedule. The Toros will play a total of seven matches during the preseason as they build up to their USL Championship season opener at Seattle Sounders FC 2 on Friday, March 8.

 

RGV FC will open the preseason with a pair of matches against its MLS partner the Houston Dynamo. On Saturday, Jan. 26, the Toros will play the Dynamo in three 30-minute sessions starting at 6 p.m. CST at BBVA Compass Stadium. That event is free and open to the public, and fans may RSVP online at HoustonDynamo.com/OpenPractice. The Toros will then play the Dynamo in a closed scrimmage on Tuesday, Jan. 29 at 10 a.m. and hold an intra-squad scrimmage on Saturday, Feb. 2 at Noon, with both contests taking place at Houston Sports Park.

 

The team will return to the Valley following the intra-squad scrimmage for a week of training before hosting UT-RGV on Saturday, Feb. 9 at 7 p.m. at H-E-B Park. They’ll then return to Houston to play Houston Baptist University at Houston Sports Park on Saturday, Feb. 16 at Noon.

 

The Toros will host fellow USL Championship side Austin Bold FC on Saturday, Feb. 23 at 7 p.m. before finishing the preseason schedule on Friday, March 1 at San Antonio FC at 1 p.m. at Toyota Stadium.

 

RGV FC opens its 2019 USL Championship regular-season home schedule on Saturday, March 16 at H-E-B Park against Fresno FC at 7:30 p.m. For details on ticket prices and availability, visit RGVFC.com.

 

The hybrid relationship between the Dynamo and RGV FC in which the Dynamo control all aspects of soccer operations, including employment of the technical staff and player selection, while RGV FC manages the business side of the club, was unique in MLS when RGV FC was launched in 2016 and has quickly been emulated by multiple MLS clubs over the past year.

 

RGV FC KEY PRESEASON DATES

DATE

GAME/EVENT

TIME (CST)

Monday, January 21

First Day of Preseason Training

1:30 PM

Saturday, January 26

Game vs. Houston Dynamo (BBVA Compass Stadium)

6:00 PM

Tuesday, January 29

Game vs. Houston Dynamo (Houston Sports Park)

10:00 AM

Saturday, February 2

Intra-squad scrimmage (Houston Sports Park)

12:00 PM

Sunday, February 3

Team travels to Edinburg

N/A

Saturday, February 9

Game vs. UT-RGV (H-E-B Park)

7:00 PM

Saturday, February 16

Game at Houston Baptist Univ. (Houston Sports Park)

12:00 PM

Saturday, February 23

Game vs. Austin Bold (H-E-B- Park)

7:00 PM

Friday, March 1

Game at San Antonio FC (Toyota Stadium)

1:00 PM

Friday, March 8

Opening Day at Seattle Sounders 2

9:00 PM

Saturday, March 16

Home Opener vs. Fresno FC (H-E-B Park)

7:30 PM

 

 

 

 

 

#  SOMOS TOROS #

Latest News